Mrs. Pendley's Science News

Lesson Plans for Novermber 12-16
Monday, November 12
Out for Veteran's Day

Tuesday, November 13
*Read pages 198-201 in textbook "Restless Continents
*questions to follow
*students will use play dough to construct the continents and model continental drift


Wedesday, November 14
Dare with Officer Folds

Thursday, November 15
*Read pages 202-205 in textbook "The Theory of Plate Tectonics
*questions to follow
*students will create a booklet while viewing a powerpoint on convergent boundary, divergent boundary, and transform boundary

Friday, November 16
*continue lesson from Thursday



Lesson Plans for November 5-November 9
Monday, November 5
*Read pages 190-196 in the science textbook "Inside the Earth" 
*complete questions for these pages

Tuesday, November 6
*Readworks article "How Plates Affect Our Planet: Structure of the Earth
*questions about the article

Wednesday, November 7
Advisory Day - Test Taking Skills
Students Dismissed at 12


Thursday, November 8
DARE with Officer Folds

Friday, November 9
Veteran's Day Progam at 8:30
*Veteran's Day Activities




Lesson Plans for October 29-November 2

Monday, October 29
*seismic waves powerpoint with notes 
*pwave and swave group activity with slinky
*students sheet 2.1-simulating the motion of earthquake waves

Tuesday, October 30
continuation of lesson 2.1 from Monday


Wednesday, October 31
Snake Show and Halloween Dance

Thursday, November 1
DARE with Officer Fold

Friday, November 2
Begin designing group Earthquake structure






Lesson Plans for October 22-26

Monday, October 22
Parent Teacher Conference/Students Dismissed

Tuesday, October 23
*Amsti Lesson 2 - When the Earth Shakes
*the students will use a spring to investigate different kinds of wave (p-wave and s-wave)
*Reflection questions

Wednesday, October 24
DARE with Officer Folds


Thursday, October 25
Plate Tectonics and Aftershocks Reading Comprehension

Friday, October 26
Earthquake Myths




Lesson Plans for Septembe
r 24-28



Monday, September 24
Continuation of Lesson from Thursday and Friday of Last Week

Tuesday, September 25
Amsti Lesson 4 - Heat Transfer and The Movement of Air
*students will investigate the effect of surface temperature on the temperature of the air above the surface using ice water and hot water
*the recording will be done in their notebooks on worksheet 4.1

Wednesday, September 26
Amsti Lesson 4 - Heat Transfer and The Movement of Air
*students will investigate how the temperature of a surface affects the movement of the air above it using hot water, ice water, and a punk stick to show how the smoke moves above the surface.

Thursday, September 27
Amsti Lesson 4 - Heat Transfer and The Movement of Air
*students will read "Air Masses" and complete reflections questions
*we will also discuss maritime, continental, polar, and tropical air masses

Friday, September 28
Amsti Lesson 4 - Heat Transfer and The Movement of Air
*vocabulary from lesson 5, air mass powerpoint, and discovery ed video on Air Masses


Lesson Plans for September 17-21

Monday, September 17
Amsti Lesson 3 - Heating Earth' Surfaces
*students will observe and record the rates at which equal volumes of soil and water heat and cool using a heat lamp, timers, and thermometers
*they will record the temperature of the heating process for 10 minutes with the lamp on and the cooling process for 10 minutes with the lamp off
*the recording will be done in their notebooks on worksheet 3.1a
Standard 13 - explain how the rotation of the Earth and unequal heating of its surface create patterns of atmospheric and oceanic circulation that determine regional climates


Tuesday, September 18
Mrs. Culpepper will be teaching a lesson with all of my science classes.  The topics she will cover will be "getting to know your counselor" and "study skills."


Wednesday, September 19
Amsti Lesson 3 continued - Heating Earth's Surfaces
*students will work in groups to create one double-line graph to present to the class the heating and cooling process during their experiment
*students will then record their group data on an individual sheet on the notebooks, sheet 3.1a (graph)
*students will then complete 3.1b "Interpreting a Data Table" on their own for a grade
Standard 13 - explain how the rotation of the Earth and unequal heating of its surface create patterns of atmospheric and oceanic circulation that determine regional climates


Thursday, September 20
Amsti Lesson 3 continued - Heating Earth' Surfaces
*Read "The Source of the Earth's Heat" in Amsti Book
*Discovery Ed lesson in google classroom on Solar Energy
*Questions about the lesson to be answered in their notebook
Standard 13 - explain how the rotation of the Earth and unequal heating of its surface create patterns of atmospheric and oceanic circulation that determine regional climates

Friday, September 21
Amsti Lesson 3 continued - Heating Earth' Surfaces
*read "The Atmosphere: A Multilayered Blanket of Air"
*complete "Layers of the Atmosphere" in notebooks
Standard 13 - explain how the rotation of the Earth and unequal heating of its surface create patterns of atmospheric and oceanic circulation that determine regional climates


*ALL PLANS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE